Areas of Learning

countingEwelme Village Preschool follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory guidelines, which all early years providers must meet. It enables our exceptional staff to teach, develop and mentor your child through play. Most importantly, our staff are dedicated to working closely with your child to ensure they learn at their own pace and to fulfil their own potential. Moreover, your child’s key person will always be planning your child’s next learning steps.

Early years learning concentrates on seven areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and Language development
  • Physical development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design